The beginning!

20160215_114506

Greetings to all and sundry! I’m Jon, though I usually go by Squirrel (my call-sign during my deployment in Iraq), and I decided I would document my descent into the complex and wonderful world of motorcycles. On here, and on my eventual Vlogs, I’ll document what I’ve learned, my musings on motorcycle culture, and other things that seem relevant.

Now, I’ve recently picked up a, rather battered, ’95 Suzuki GS500e for a pittance. The poor basket-case needs a lot of work to get it running again, but with persistence, copious amounts of caffeine, help from friends, and support from the fine folks at the GStwins Forum, I think the bike will be back on the road soon!

In the future, I intend to add Vlogs to this little site, but since I don’t see a major reason to take that step yet (I’m not riding yet), I’ll stick to documenting my progress and findings on here.

The work that must be done to the GS before its road-worthy again is as follows:

  1. Wiring work is needed; to ensure the previous owner didn’t cause irreparable harm to the wiring harness. If there is, It’ll have to be replaced.
  2. The brakes need an overhaul. The front brake pads were nearly non-existent on one side of the caliper, yet completely missing on the other side (heaven knows how they managed to stop before)! The rear brake looks almost brand-new, however they seemed over-tight and were rubbing on the rear rotor.
  3. The carburetors have been cleaned, however more fiddling/adjustments may be needed before optimum performance is achieved.
  4. New tires are a must! The current tires are either not holding air very well (the front), or are rather bald in the center (the rear). Definitely not safe for any rider, much less a beginner like me.
  5. New paint is needed as well. The wonderful previous owner decided that the best way to give his bike a new look was to spray paint everything, and I mean everything, with cheap semi-gloss black paint. Certainly not a good look for the discerning beginning rider.
  6. Other custom work will be done as well, including the addition of a different seat (cafe style, most likely), the possible addition of a fairing (to change the look), and maybe some other tweaks to really make this bike both something special, and my own.

So join me, as I blunder along!

Cheers!

-Jon

Author: MotoSquirrel

Motorcyclist, bike lover, overall nerd.

Leave a Reply

