Choosing The Bike

Suzuki Update

13327481_1327408443939169_3177396139901301781_n

Well folks, bad news first. After all the hard work I’ve done on the bike, I found it was for nothing. While not stolen, the title was never properly transferred by a previous owner, so I’m left with a bike that would take months to secure a title, if I ever get one.

So, I decided to make the problem go away. Since I’ve done all the hard work, I’ve supplied other GS500e owners with parts to ensure other GS500e motorcycles can remain on the road. I hope they can use the parts to greater effect than I did.


Choosing The Bike

Since I find myself in need of another bike, I have begun compiling a list of bikes that should work as a beginner learning bike. I prefer the classic “Standard” layout, where seat height and comfort go hand-in-hand. I may look into small-displacement sport-bikes, but for now, here’s what I have so far:

bff57555-a3ae-4dc2-8e66-55e40a55fd6d

Cleveland Cyclewerks Misfit (Gen1)

The Misfit by Cleveland Cyclewerks is a “250cc” Motorcycle designed and assembled in America, running a Honda-derived 229cc 4-stroke engine with a 48.42″ wheelbase and a seat height of 31.1″. Brain-child of Scott Colisimo of Cleveland, Ohio, this bike is a look at what American small-manufacturers can produce if given the opportunity. While many question the quality of the bike, owing to its Asian production, the bike commands an almost cult-like following. The brand has been slowly growing in America, so we’ll see how strong its staying power is.

MSRP: $3,195

Gallery_Wolf_35

SYM Wolf Classic 150

A newcomer to the U.S. market, the SYM is a modern production variant of the venerable Honda CB125. SYM built the bike for Honda throughout its time selling the bike in the U.S., so they likely know what they’re doing. After Honda terminated the CB125 contract following the bike’s removal from the U.S. market, SYM continued to produce the bike for other worldwide markets, namely in Asia. Over time, they updated the bike’s safety features, and upgraded the engine to Honda’s “250” engine. The actual displacement hits very close to the generalized CC mark at 149.4 cc, and the bike is surprisingly well sized with a wheelbase of 49.21″, and a seat height of 30″. Boasting a 24 month limited warranty, the Wolf may just help to break through the dubiousness of the American consumer regarding Taiwanese motorcycles. The popularity of this bike seems to be slowly growing in the American market, so this is a very attractive option.

MSRP: $2,999

2015-TU250X

2015 Suzuki TU250x

A mainstay in the U.S. “Beginner Rider” market, the TU250x is a strong showing from one of the “Big Six”. Lauded for its reliability, beginner rider friendly handling, and strong dealer and aftermarket support, this bike is a strong candidate on the list of potential bikes for my first bike. Weighing in with an engine displacement of 249cc’s, a wheelbase of 54.1″, and a seat height of 30″, the TU250x is a strong contender in the beginner rider scene.

MSRP: $4,399

cmx250c-08a1

2015 Honda CMX250C Rebel

Another candidate offered by one of the “Big Six”, the Honda Rebel is a ubiquitous sight at MSF ranges and new rider meet-ups. Backed by over a half-century of history, Honda has dominated the small-displacement beginner rider for years with solid bikes and strong customer support. With a strong aftermarket supply, this bike has an option to really become something unique and special. Getting one of these used can be difficult, as owners rarely let them go, and if they do, they’re not cheap. Sitting pretty with an engine displacement of 234cc, a seat height of 26.6″, and a wheelbase of 57″, this bike proves year after year why it commands the respect it does.

MSRP: $4,190

 

More bikes to be added as needed. . .

Author: MotoSquirrel

Motorcyclist, bike lover, overall nerd.

4 thoughts on “Choosing The Bike”

  1. I’ve ridden both the Suzi TU250 and the Honda Rebel 250. I prefer the TU250’s standard seating position a little more and quite honestly it is a good peppy agile bike. We looked at it for our riding school for basic motorcycle class, in the end we went with a Honda CRF250 because of its durability. Back to the TU250 I really liked it, it handled well at slow speed and was very comfortable to ride. Unfortunately I couldn’t take it for a rip down the highway. I liked the retro styling. The bike was a tiny bit top heavy, but once you rode it for awhile you’d get used to that.

    I’ve ridden a rebel in a few times and to be honest for me its not my favorite bike, it gets vibratey at higher speeds. But for a new rider they are lovely bikes because of the low seat height, there are aftermarket accessories and if you decide to move on they always sell.

    Like

    1. The TU250X is honestly my favorite starter bike from the big six. Several of my friends have argued for me to purchase one, however with my grim credit situation, a cheaper bike may be in order. We’ll have to see what the future holds.

      Like

  2. I’ve yet to see a TU in California but I have seen a SR400 on the road. I’d recommend that bike over any of the Chinese and Taiwan made bikes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

