Choosing The Bike III: Buying Odd But New

As my goal of getting another motorcycle (that runs) slowly comes into focus, I find myself torn between two categories: New or Used?

On one hand, you have advocates of buying used for your first bike. “Buy it used,” they say, “because then if you lay it down it won’t matter as much!” and “You’re going to out-grow it quickly, so why make a big investment?” Both points do have some merits, however both have their problems.

The “laying it down” argument is quite persuasive, as a beginner rider is almost guaranteed to drop the bike within the first two years at least once. It seems a logical choice to get something that may be a bit battered instead of something sleek, shiny, and new, plus you generally spend less money that way. It can be an ideal situation for a rider with a limited budget (like me) to get on the road with very little in the way of capital. The downside of this can be like the issue I had with the GS500 I bought; you can inherit someone else’s problem, which can cost you more than you bargained for.

The more absurd argument is the “you’ll outgrow it in six months” argument. Usually spouted by a “Squid” or “Billy” with a backwards cap and delusions of MotoGP grandeur. This kind of thinking is not only wrong, but very dangerous. Valentino Rossi himself couldn’t master a bike from scratch in that short of an amount of time, why would you think you could? This is actually a lazy form of peer-pressure, and can get you killed. As I’ve mentioned before: ride your own ride.

Now, you could hunt for a decent used bike, take a knowledgeable friend with you, drive a hard bargain, and come out fairly well in the deal, or you can ponder the new bike market. As I stated before, both options have merit.

New bikes nearly always come with a warranty, are sold by reputable shops, and usually have no major issues right off the lot. Yes, some bikes can have severe gremlins *cough, Yamaha, cough*, however most are perfectly fine right off the lot. You spend more money up front, but get peace of mind that you won’t have to dump a lot of money into the bike within the first year to fix any issues that crop up. Add to that, you can often roll in the cost of gear into the loan when you buy the bike from a dealer, as opposed to buying it all on the side with a used bike.

In this post I’ll be looking at a bike purchase that I would make if I was buying something new. While I’m not initially planning on financing a bike new, I am planning on squirreling away every penny until I can afford to either buy it outright, or have a large enough of a down-payment that any bank would happily finance me. All it will require of me is to work hard, be frugal, and keep the goal squarely in my sights. So, what are some of my options?

Table

Yes, you guessed it: I’m weird and am not looking at the “Big Six” at this time. (LOL)

As a note: The gear would obviously not be able to be added to any financing in most of these bike’s cases, however at this point we’re just looking at price and specs.

The SYM Wolf Classic 150 has a quiet following that is slowly growing in the US market, as buyers are comparing them to the Honda Grom and it’s expensive price tag, and the Misfit has an almost fanatical fan-base that’s really beginning to show on the small-displacement motorcycle market. I’ve posted about these bikes before. The RX3 I’ve only mentioned in passing, so a closer look is really worth it.

So its definitely time to start some serious saving!

 

Author: MotoSquirrel

Motorcyclist, bike lover, overall nerd.

1 thought on “Choosing The Bike III: Buying Odd But New”

Leave a Reply

